About

The Muse staff

VISION STATEMENT

The Muse contributes to a strong community by inspiring a passion for our history, arts and culture.

MISSION STATEMENT

To achieve the Vision by:

  • Being a cultural hub of relevance
  • Valuing and fostering respectful partnerships and relationships
  • Preserving, promoting and sharing our heritage
  • Inspiring life-long learning
  • Maintaining employee and financial stability.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT AND COMMITMENT STATEMENT

We acknowledge that the land on which The Muse is set is the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, territory covered by Treaty #3, signed in 1873, and the Treaty Adhesion signed by the Métis in 1875.

The Muse commits to embrace and live the values known as The Seven Grandfathers – respect, love, truth, bravery, wisdom, generosity and humility – values we all esteem. It is our commitment that we will, to the best of our ability, live out these values in our work and purposes so that we can build and strengthen relationships with Indigenous communities and individuals; represent their history and culture accurately and respectively; involve their members in our work from a position of humility and an attitude of learning so that what we do and present here at the Museum and at the Art Centre will be honest and honouring.

STAFF DIRECTORY

The Muse Director
Lori Nelson
lnelson@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2202

Museum Educator
Braden Murray
bmurray@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2105

Community Engagement
Lynn Halley
lhalley@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2105

Art Centre Curator
Sophie Lavoie
slavoie@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2201

Art Centre Programmer
Shelby Smith
ssmith@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2201

Collections Management Assistant
Marcus Jeffrey
mjeffrey@themusekenora.ca
807-467-2105

THE MUSE BOARD (2018-2022)

  • Rita Boutette – Chair
  • Jennifer Pyzer Whetter – Vice Chair
  • Robert Bulman – Secretary-Treasurer
  • Tracy Lindstrom
  • Lorelei Van Belleghem
  • Dennis Wallace
  • Chris Van Walleghem – Council Representative

ADVISORY COMMITTEES

  • The Museum Advisory Committee
  • The Art Centre Advisory Committee
  • The Indigenous Advisory Committee

Did you know?

The Sultana Gold Mine was the largest of the mines on the Lake of the Woods, and between 1890 and 1906 produced over $1million dollars in gold.

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann